Well, I have been planning this for about a week now.  I’ve been psyching myself up for it, envisioning it, even dreaming about it.  Today it happened.

And I must say, I am very proud that it did!

I told nobody what my plans were until yesterday…until I was sure my heart was in it.  I guess I didn’t want to wind up with the inevitable announce-fail-shame cycle that usually happens when I declare that I am finally going to do something for myself.

Today, I regained a bit of dignity and self-empowerment.  I went running.

Now before anyone signs me up for the Boston Marathon, please do not mistake my little triumph as anything more than just that:  my LITTLE triumph.  I only ran for a little under a mile, didn’t actually RUN the whole way, and pretty much sounded like The Little Engine that Shouldn’t.  pant wheeze WHEEZE cough pant pant… You get the point.  A 38-and-a-half-year-old, grossly overweight, potential heart-attack victim is NOT a pretty sight at 6 a.m.  BUT, there had to be a start somewhere.

Not sure where this is going to lead, if anywhere.  But for ONCE in a very long time, I did something that I told myself I was going to do.  I hauled my roundy self OUT OF BED.  EARLY. ON A MONDAY before work, and went out and EXERCISED.  ME? Wow.  Congratulations and happy dance, Self.  That’s the first tiny step on a very long journey!

Will I post about this again?  Yep.  Do I plan on making a habit of it?  Gonna try.  Will there be whining and disappointment?  You betcha!  But as long as I get back on there and try when I fail, that’s the important thing, right?

About Tracey

Not much to tell, but stick around surely something will come up!

3 responses »

  1. Davis says:

    Congratulations on a good start! As someone who’s been running for 30 years now (almost daily) I can vouch for the value. You’ll soon reach a point where you crave it … look forward to that. Keep up the good work.

  2. sheila says:

    YaY YOU!!! Sooo Proud of YOU! :o) oh yeh, Love Ya Lots too!

  3. Woaf says:

    Aside from your selfdeprecating silliness, I say way to go! You take that pepper-spray!

Leave a Reply

