This is a positively grouchy post.  I am not my sunshiney self right now, and I apologize for taking it out on you guys who read my ponderings.

I have a friend who is breaking my heart and it is driving me insane. He has gone from acting like I’m the coolest person ever to acting like I’m nothing but a let-down. The more I try to correct my mistakes, the more he seems to look at me with disgust.  I haven’t ever tap-danced this much to make another human happy.

The harder I try, the more it is evident that he just isn’t that into me anymore.

So, what do I do? I feel a very non-productive cycle coming on, and I really don’t want to go to that dark place again. Help?

About Tracey

Not much to tell, but stick around surely something will come up!

5 responses »

  1. Bri. says:

    Sometimes you just have to let go of trying to make other people happy. Go on with your life – neither avoiding them, nor going out of your way to please them. Sometimes the best way to handle something is by not handling them at all.

    Sometimes, zen really does work. 😉

  2. alkdoz2006 says:

    Hey look!

  3. alkdoz2006 says:

    Well, that wasn’t as exciting as I’d hoped…

  4. Fossie says:

    Bri, you are so very right. But I miss that person so badly. Not that they even care enough to recognize how much, or even acknowledge it.

    But yes, you make a very good point. I need to find some zen. Thank you, my friend!

  5. Wes says:

    I know you will find this hard to believe, but I could say much on this topic. For brevity’s sake, and to prevent my frustration from throwing this iPhone across the room, let me be surprisingly succinct. Friendship, much like love, should be unconditional. We may not like every aspects of a friend’s personality or demeanor, or approve of all that they do. But unconditional is a pretty easy concept to understand. The world is unfriendly enough without our “friends” being anything less than unconditional, or better still our greatest advocates and champions. Anything less is unacceptable and unworthy. If he cannot accept you as you are, or accept and support you as you change thinks you (and you alone) do not like, then he is not a friend and warrants no honor of that truly special designation.

Leave a Reply

