No, I’m not trying to be naughty… there is a cartoon called What the Duck. My friend Matthew has turned me on it, and it is hilarious. Well, okay, let me back up…it is hilarious IF you are photographer or if you work with a photographer. For others, it might be just mildly amusing.

NONETHELESS, today’s strip has provided me with something to think about:

As an artist, you always look for inspiration EVERYWHERE – in everything from sunsets, to mountainscapes, to the way the creamer swirled in your cup of coffee. We also look to other artists. And if there is someone out there that you ab-so-freakin-lutely admire beyond all words, then you have a tendency to emulate your perception of their work into what you do.

Or TRY to do.

And that’s where sometimes it is hard to be an artist. There is so much beauty in the world – yes the guy who videotaped the windblown plastic bag in “American Beauty” DID have a point – that you sometimes get overwhelmed about what you want to do. And that can lead to, “Because me sucks.”

I work with two amazingly talented men. David is the veteran…he’s done this for over 30 years and has his signature touches on things. He’s one heck of a cartoonist and brings a wry sense of humor to even the most boring of topics. Case in point, he does the safety calendar every year for our company. Sounds boring, right? Not David’s…he has created this entire pantheon of safety heroes and villians, cartoon icons that battle over things like accidental spills and improper use of equipment. Their struggles serve to take us out of the humdrum and wake us up to the alert that hey, you might need to pay attention to what you’re doing. David is just about one of the most awesome people I’ve ever met. He’s taught me so much over the years and I thank him for that.

And on the other end of the spectrum, there is Matthew. He comes to us straight from college with a degree in a field that he just recently (and PERFEFCTLY) embraced. (Unlike David and myself who are life-long pencil nerds.) Matthew is BRILLIANT at his photography. But he’s also so very outside the box on design concepts. He too can take the boring and make you want to say, ‘hey, let me take a look at that.’ He has kind of saved me from the gray of monotony that comes from doing the same thing day in and day out. I used to feel I was a shiny rainbow of colors…but over the years, life has sucked the vibrance right out of me and my art. Matthew has been my shot in the arm, and I am truly thankful for that.

I’m still not sure what I want to do as far as my art. But something funny just occurred to me: everytime I have tried to type the word “art” in this post, for some reason I keep tying “hart”… and I think that is my subcon trying to tell me something: what I do comes straight from my heart. It is WHO I AM. I guess I’ve been overthinking it all. When it comes to my art, I think maybe I WILL try harder to be the next me.

About Tracey

Not much to tell, but stick around surely something will come up!

Leave a Reply

